At the start of the new year, nearly half of our nation’s states increased their minimum wage. Connecticut, Delaware, Nevada, and Oregon have plans to increase their wages later in the year. $7.25/hour remains the federal minimum wage, which hasn’t changed since 2009.
View the latest minimum wage requirements in your state:
¹California:$13.00 is the hourly rate is for CA employers with 26+ employees. Employers in CA with <25 employees have a minimum wage of $12.00/hour.
²Wyoming, Georgia: Both of these states actually have a state wage of $5.15. However, employers subject to the Fair Labor Standards Act must pay the $7.25 Federal minimum wage. Read here for more details on GA’s state minimum wage laws and here for more on WY’s laws.
³Nevada: $7.25 rate is for Nevada employees who are offered health insurance. $8.25 rate is for Nevada employees who are not offered health insurance. These will both increase in July of 2020.
⁴New York City, NY and Portland, OR: Have local minimum wage rates that exceed the statewide minimum.
⁵District of Columbia (DC): Minimum wage will change to $15.00 on July 1, 2020.
⁶Minnesota: The $10.00 rate applies to large employers ($500,000 + annual revenue). Small employers have a minimum wage of $8.15 per hour.